Introduction to Chakras

Chakra is a Sanskrit word meaning ‘wheels’. Chakras are energy centres or spirals located in our body emanating from the spinal column from the base of the spine to the crown of the head.

They draw energy inwards and transmit energy outwards, the body then utilises the energy before expelling the energy from the body.

There are many chakras within our body but there are 7 main ones, these are:-

The 7 main Chakras


Each of the Chakras has a particular function.

Association was made between various parts of their body such as emotions, physical state and spiritual being; yogis developed an understanding of chakras and the association of crystals for healing.

Chakras need to be balanced to resolve physical, emotional and spiritual issues; if chakras are balanced in a person they have a higher frequency and thus a greater sense of well being. If our Chakras are unbalanced then emotions, spiritual being and/or physical state will suffer.

We can condition each of the Chakras using various techniques such as yoga, meditation, breathing exercises (Pranyama), showing compassion and understanding and thus creating perfectly balanced body.


For more information: The 7 chakras and chakra meditation
Filed in: Meditation

Recent Posts

© 2019 Meditation and Relaxation Techniques. All rights reserved.
Copy Protected by Chetan's WP-Copyprotect.